IN THE WILDERNESS – a song by Michael Card

This has to be, for me, one of the most poignant and germane songs which speaks of my spiritual life in general.  I’ve found myself in this “wilderness” so many times over the past 18 years, that Michael’s words ring true in my soul more each time I listen to them.  I trust my posting his lyrics will not offend my favourite troubadour nor leave you wanting…

In the Wilderness

Michael Card (Exodus)

                          Chorus:

In the wilderness, In the wilderness,

He calls his sons and daughters,

To the wilderness,

But he gives grace sufficient,

to survive any test,

And that’s the painful purpose of the wilderness.

 

In the wilderness we wander, In the wilderness we weep,

In the wasteland of our wanting,

Where the darkness seems so deep,

We search for the beginning, for an exodus to hold,

We find that those who follow him, must often walk alone.

 

In the wilderness we’re wondering, for a way to understand.

In the wilderness there’s not a way, for the way becomes a man.

And the man becomes the exodus, the way to holy ground,

But wandering in the wilderness, is the best way to be found.

 

Groaning and growing,

Amidst the desert days,

The windy winter wilderness,

Can blow the self away…

 

In the wilderness, In the wilderness,

He calls his sons and daughters,

To the wilderness,

But he gives grace sufficient,

to survive any test,

And that’s the painful promise of the wilderness…

One thought on “IN THE WILDERNESS – a song by Michael Card

  1. Hi Alan, gratias/thanks for the Enneagram 4 style song lyrucs; that is so true for many of us. Deep and meaningful. God-blessings, Gabrielle DF

Comments are closed.