MYSTICISM: The Thirst of the Soul, with help from Evelyn Underhill

The Value of Sparrows

Psalm 42:
As the hart pants for the water brooks, so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God; when will I come and appear before God?  

Evelyn Underhill, the first woman to lecture at Oxford and the woman who gave retreats to Anglican priests, counseling them to start praying, has an expansive definition of what a mystic is.  My first post to this blog, one I wrote up quickly so that I could experiment with it in deciding how I wanted the blog to look, was a beginning to her definition of a mystic.  Here is a continuation of her thoughts about this:

So the beginning of an answer to the question, ‘What is mysticism?’ must be this: mysticism is the passionate longing of the soul for God, the unseen reality, loved, sought, and adored in himself for himself alone…

View original post 493 more words

